top of page
Search
  • Sandile

3D map

Updated: Nov 9, 2020

Making the 3D map for the population served by healthsites in Mamelodi was a nice experience but I wish I had more time and a PC with a better processing speed to explore all the functionalities present in the 3D making plugin called Qgis2threejs. This plugin allowed me to make the 3d map on QGIS. My biggest challenges were getting all the labels of the healthsites to be visible, which meant maneuvering the the 3D model time and time again for that ‘million dollar’ angle.

My other challenge came when I had to enlarge the size of my basemap that I had added because it kept on getting skewed when moving the map around. The problem was solved by going into the basemap’s properties and increasing its geometry’s surrounding block size. The 3D effect was made by increasing the heights of layers used by using their population related attributes in their layers.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The project

My group and I have been working on this project since the beginning of August. At first we were unsure about what we had to do and what our final product would be, but with time and constant communic

bottom of page